Summer Vegetable Crêpes

Crêpes

Today I decided to try my hand at crêpes. What I like most about these delicious French pancakes is that you could probably eat them at every time of day: breakfast, dessert, snack, even lunch and dinner! Today’s recipe is crêpes with a ricotta and vegetable filling.

Crêpes

In the past, I have never had much luck with pancakes; either the heat is too low or too high, the batter too lumpy, etc. I was cautious about trying to make crêpes because of this but the other day I had some lovely crêpes at a friend’s house and decided to give it a try. This recipe in particular looked interesting because the filling was something other than strawberries and chocolate or ham and cheese, the two most popular crêpes I know of.

Crêpes

I made my crêpes and although they were not the best I have ever seen, they had a nice taste to them and a light golden color to them.  I think next time I make them, I will try a smaller pan so that I can make smaller crêpes. After the crêpes were made, I assembled the sauce and filling.

Crêpes

The recipe called for a sauce of sour cream, milk, lemon juice and chives. Mine turned out quite runny so I recommend a little less milk. Making the filling was rather easy; all I had to do was combine ricotta cheese with lemon zest and Parmesan cheese. The original recipe called for ricotta cheese and Monterrey Jack cheese but I decided to change it up a bit.

Crêpes

Sauteing the vegetables went smoothly; in no time they were cooked through and ready for the addition of the ricotta mixture. I chose to use peas instead of green beans if only because I prefer the former but they actually gave a nice taste to the filling. Once the filling was done, I added some to each crêpe and rolled them up. The reviews were unanimous: this was a darn good crêpe recipe! The corn added such a sweetness and the zucchini gave them a little crunch. The addition of the lemon zest to the riccotta combined the flavors nicely and gave it a freshness. Give it a try, if you have any comments on the recipe, leave them below. Bon Appetit!

Summer Vegetable Crêpes

Crêpes adapted from Allrecipes

Filling adapted from Eating Well

Crêpes

1/2 cup flour

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup water

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon butter, melted

In a large bowl, whisk milk, water, flour, and egg until combined.

Add salt and butter and beat until smooth.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle over medium heat.

Pour about 1/4 cup of batter for each crêpe and immediately tilt the pan to coat the entire surface.

Cook for two minutes and flip and cook for another minute.

Filling

1/3 cup sour cream

1/2 cup chopped chives, plus more for garnish

3 tablespoons milk

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1 cup ricotta cheese

1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups zucchini, chopped

1 cup peas

1 cup corn kernels, approximately 1 ear of corn

In a small bowl, combine sour cream, chives, milk, and lemon juice, set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine ricotta cheese, lemon zest, Parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper.

Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat.

Add zucchini, peas, and corn kernels and cook for 6 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Once beginning to brown, reduce to low and add ricotta mixture and continue to cook for one to two minutes.

Remove from heat and spoon about 1/2 cup of the mixture onto each crêpe.

Roll crêpes and top with sour cream sauce and remaining chives.

Leave a Reply

